Be the person that showed up

As I pull out old files and notes for the missions project I worked on for a while and then back burnered (is that a word?) while I focused on Christian music, I find there are lots of new and really interesting stories of people serving and volunteering that I can’t wait to investigate further

Case in point: Conor Grennan, founder of Next Generation Nepal. Conor traveled to Nepal to volunteer at an orphanage and after learning that the children weren’t necessarily orphans but victims of human trafficking, made it his mission to help reuinte the children with their parents.

In this video, one line stands out to me, when Conor is explaining “why me” and he says, “I was the person that showed up.”

That’s what serving is all about. You don’t have to have some master plan or have the details all worked out. You don’t even really need to know the problem – Grennan went to an orphanage and now works with victims of trafficking and their families, not something he’d envisioned as his life’s work. All you have to do is show up.

Grennan chronicles his experiences in his new book, Little Princes: One Man’s Promise to Bring Home the Lost Children of Nepal.

Leave a comment