2022: The Year of my Deconstruction

That time, pre-pandemic, when I dressed up like a butterfly for an event at the Seneca Park Zoo.

I learned something recently about butterflies and caterpillars.

I always thought a caterpillar went into a cocoon and shed its crawly outer self to grandly reveal the butterfly beneath, hidden wings simply unfurling in the dark before bursting back into the world anew.

Nope. The process is actually gruesome. It involves a complete deconstruction of the insect, a total unmaking, a breaking down into a cellular soup of everything that makes a caterpillar a caterpillar in order to build something completely new from the mess and goo.

I have so many questions.

Does the caterpillar instinctively begin the process, blindly heading into darkness with no knowledge of what’s about to take place? Or does it know what’s to come, accepting that the end result will be worth the sacrifice?

Does the butterfly have any memory of being a caterpillar, the constraints of once being tied to the ground? Does it remember the darkness, slowly digesting itself into core elements so it can be reconstructed into something glorious? Or does it simply accept the new ability to flutter from bloom to bloom, feasting under sunny skies, never looking back to what once was?

For me, 2022 brought about a lot of transitions ā€“ in my creative life, in my personal life, in my professional life. At times it all felt like one unmaking, and for a while I found myself curled up on the couch binging British cozy mysteries and devouring Fritos.

As the year came to an end, I was happy to kick the preceding twelve months to the curb while embracing the good that came from it. So much good! I realized that letting go didn’t necessarily mean saying goodbye to things I loved. It simply meant embracing a better present ā€“ more clarity, better relationships, and a glimpse of what could be possible if I let myself be open to new adventures.

I lost little in the year of my deconstructing. In fact, I come out far richer for the experience.

As you head into 2023, be mindful of the things you’re holding on to, things that you know in your heart you need to release so that you can turn your eyes to where you’re going. The sky is filled with stars, and the journey is yours to make.

Remember, you can’t get from Here to There without leaving Here at some point, even if you know there will be some time spent deconstructing in the goo.

Happy creating!
Joanne

PS For me, 2023 brought about a new journey: life and creativity coaching! If you believe you’re ready to embark on a new journey and would like a fellow traveler by your side, reach out to me at joannebrokaw@gmail.com. We’ll schedule a time for you to share your story and your dreams (no charge, no obligation), to see if I’m the right companion for your adventure.

Leave a comment