The Magic of Creative Community

This morning, I hosted a Creative Open Space with the lovely Misty Yarnall. Like every event I host, we put the event out there, planned as best we could, invited everyone we know, and then left it to the creative gods to make the magic happen.

Here are some thoughts after this event:

* As we were nearing “start” time, I told Misty that I’m never sure if I hope no one shows up or everyone shows up. I love being a good host but I also just want to set the scene and then crawl under a table to watch what’s going to happen.

* In the end, people always show up, and it’s the right number of people every time.

* I have a loving core of humans who support me by putting their collective energies and spirits in the same space at the same time, over and over again. And while they are acquainted with each other and always seem happy to see each other, they don’t actually “know” each other. And yet there they are, together again, right on time, making the world a better place because they are there.

* People I don’t know, or who I haven’t seen in forever and two days, will also show up, because “I just felt like I was supposed to be here” or “I was craving community” or “I’ve been wanting to talk to you about…” and they will add to the beauty.

* This combined group of people will always be exactly the right people to be in that space and time. Call it destiny, call it divine guidance, but things are waiting to happen in the universe and all of the pieces need to be together to get things started, and today’s the day, folks. I can see this happening in real time, even if the people involved don’t. It’s like clear, calm space one minute, and the next minute sparks are flying all over the room.

* No matter where I set an event up at Central Creatives, we always end up in the Window Room, where we sit and talk and play, and spill in and out of my messy studio, and eat snacks. But every other space I set up for the event is necessary, because it creates the energy that flows into the Window Room – like a path of welcoming stepping stones leading to home. It’s all connected, my lovelies. You can’t just throw up a Welcome sign and expect people to feel welcome. You need a big clean room to greet them, and then pretty things on the walls to lead them, and then a cozy skylit nook to set the mood, all before they hit the Window Room to find a table with snacks and a tablecloth damp from spilled coffee water and an assortment of mismatched chairs and a scientist with a field journal and a man (not) named Panera who (not) baked me a breakfast ring and a balloon man on a bicycle and a toddler crawling on the floor next to a poet with a squid on his head and an artist just home from China (or here from home in China, because home is funny that way, isn’t it?) and a dear friend who greets another with “I noticed your sneakers. When I was living in Panama…” and another dear friend who, like me, is missing his dog but neither of us cried today.

* If you give beautiful humans a place to gather, they will make magic.

* Magic happens when you count cards in the right order, even if you can’t explain why you’re counting with different numbers but still getting the same magic result – or sometimes not. (If you were there at the end while we played with this and have figured out how the trick works, please share with the rest of the class. Some of us are still mind-boggled, especially me and I’m the one who shared the trick.)

* I run with exceptionally brilliant folks who, like me, don’t know how to make coffee, and I love that about us.

* The next event will be in June, once I pick a date that doesn’t coincide with a parade. Make sure you’re on the mailing list to get the info. http://joannebrokaw.com/contact.html

Happy creating, beautiful humans. I love you.

image courtesy of Kay Ross’s The Playground of Possibilities deck. Visit her website and soak in the love.

Leave a comment