The strangest dream: the incredible, growing house

photo courtesy of Pixabay.com

photo courtesy of Pixabay.com

One of the (few) things I like about Facebook is that it shows me things that I’ve posted on the same day over the years. It’s interesting to see old photos and status updates.

Today, though, what popped up was a link to a blog post I’d written in 2009, on an old blog, in which I chronicled a dream I’d had a few nights before. I keep a dream journal and often read through it to see if I can decipher messages I’m trying to send to myself. I’m a vivid dreamer and I’m convinced my subconscious talks to me when I sleep.

So when I read the post from seven years ago, I didn’t remember the dream at first. I apparently never wrote it in my journal. But as I read the post it came back . In detail. I could see the rooms, feel the furniture, and I remember the tone of voice people used when they talked to me.

It’s an interesting enough dream to share again. There’s a message in there somewhere, and I don’t think it’s a coincidence that it comes as the holiday season kicks off. A quick note: I’ve changed or eliminated the names of some people and edited out a few random comments I’d made at the time. But otherwise, here is the dream:

* * * * * * * * * * * *

For some reason, in this dream darling husband David and I had been given a huge, mansion-like house. It had a ground floor, three floors of bedrooms, and then an attic. Cassie, David and I set ourselves up on the third floor, with lovely, huge rooms, big windows, and lots of sunlight and beautiful antique furniture.

Immediately Cassie came to me and asked if her friend – we’ll call her Sue – could move in. Sue was a single mom with two kids and one on the way.

Dream David and I said, “Of course! Let’s give her the second floor, which should be enough room for her and the kids.” So we did. When she moved in, she found that the entire floor had already been outfitted with a crib and toys and everything a single mom with three kids could need.

As the dream progressed, more and more people began to move into the house: homeless people who needed a helping hand and a job. Strangers who were otherwise alone in life. Kids with problems. Everyone worked together to find a place for people to sleep and for ways to make sure everyone was fed and that all of the chores got done. People who had their own rooms offered to share rooms so more people could come and live in the house.

As we explored the house more, we found that the attic was filled to the rafters with board games of all sorts, and that whoever had owned the house before us had written a note specifically stating that we were to let anyone who wanted to play the games at any time. Which, of course, we did.

The weird thing is that while more and more people moved into the house, the house just got bigger and bigger – and nicer and nicer. The downstairs eventually had a state of the art kitchen and a living/dining room straight out of Architectural Digest. The furniture was beautiful, the entire home spotless.

And it continued to grow, and the people continued to come. Oddly, the more people who came, the less David, Cassie, and I appeared in the dream.

And then we got a second house.

This second house was smaller, and on the other side of town (in what is known in reality as a wealthy suburb of the city I live in). It wasn’t as nice as the first house; it was decorated all in shag carpeting and bright red and blue colors, and although it looked huge from the outside, inside it was very shabby, dark and small.

One girl moved in there, and she complained about the way it looked, the way it was decorated. She said she didn’t care if it was free or that she would have the entire house to herself. She wanted us to completely redecorate it. So she moved back to the big house and demanded her own room.

Four homeless men agreed to move in. They were so happy that they didn’t have to sleep on the streets that they didn’t care about the shag carpeting. Over time, they tore out the carpeting and cleaned the house … and like the big house, it grew.

And then I woke up.

* * * * * * * * * * * *

I noted in the blog post that it seemed like the more we gave, the more we got. The less we had, the farther it stretched. The more who were helped, the more they helped others.

This dream intrigues me today, just as it did in 2009 when I dreamed it. There’s a message in there about giving and generosity and gratitude. A lot to mull over as we enter the holiday season.

 

 

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

