Notes from the Fringe: Improv, a tease, and The Lady With All The Answers

I got to meet actress Sinda Nichols, who portrays Ann Landers in "The Lady With All The Answers".

I got to meet actress Sinda Nichols, who portrays Ann Landers in “The Lady With All The Answers”.

This is preview post of sorts, since technically I didn’t hit any official Fringey things on Monday. But there are some fun things happening tonight and tomorrow that I want to make sure you don’t miss.

Tonight, Tuesday, is a great night for improv and sketch comedy. Don’t miss:

Don Beechner and Peg DeBiase, improvisors, actors and all around very funny people.

Don Beechner and Peg DeBiase, improvisors, actors and all around very funny people, are both performing tonight.

Polite Ink: Sketch & Improv Presents: 9 More Minutes, at 7 PM at the MuCCC. My improv team mate and friend Don Beechner is performing.

Thank You Kiss Presents Tender Gestures, 9 PM at Blackfriars. My friends Megan Mack and John Forrest Thompson are performing. (I wrote about them earlier this week.)

Triple Entendre, 8:30 PM, MuCCC. I’ve only actually just met Peg DiBiase this week but I’ve been a huge fan for a while. She’s seriously one funny lady.

I won’t be at anything Fringey tonight. I’m part of the new Long Form Improv League and we have our first show at Photo City Improv tonight. It’s just $5, the show starts at 7 PM, and they happen every other week. I’m new to long form improv, so with so much great improv happening tonight, check that out and then come see me on October 6th. Photo City Improv is located on Atlantic, behind Sticky Lips on Culver Rd.

Wednesday is another great night for comedy:

Sinda Nichols performs “The Lady With All The Answers” at RAPA at School of the Arts, 6:30 PM.

Sinda Nichols is Ann Landers in "The Lady With All The Answers".

Sinda Nichols is Ann Landers in “The Lady With All The Answers”.

It’s a one-woman show based on the letters of Ann Landers. I had the wonderful opportunity last night to attend a get together for Sinda, hosted by my wonderful friend Elizabeth Osta and her husband Dave at the Plant Paradise Cafe in Fairport last night (with amazing desserts from Sweet Melissa). What a funny, gracious, talented woman. I can’t wait to see this show – join me Wednesday night or check out the shows Friday at 6:30 PM and Saturday at 11 AM.

Check out Left For Dead improv, Wednesday at Writers & Books

Check out Left For Dead improv, Wednesday at Writers & Books

Left For Dead performs one more show this week, tomorrow at 7 PM at Writers & Books. This super polished team consists of improvisers all over the age of 55. They’re smart, sophisticated, and extremely talented. That’s why they’ve spent the summer hitting comedy festivals, with great receptions. (I wrote about them here.)

Heidi Morgan is Princess Wendy in "Princess Wendy's Late Night Tease Room".

Heidi Morgan is Princess Wendy in “Princess Wendy’s Late Night Tease Room”.

I’m also going to check out Princess Wendy’s Late Night Tease Room on Wednesday night. The show opens for the final weekend of Fringe, on Thursday, Friday and Saturday at 9:30 PM in the Spiegeltent. It’s a “comedy and burlesque romp” that’s described as a “gritty sexy slice of heaven for adults” – which could mean just about anything. But from what I’ve seen of Heidi and Matt Morgan so far, it’ll be fun. I’ll let you know! You can read more about Heidi and Matt, and their other show Cabinet of Wonders, in these posts:

And here’s one last tease: On my piece at RochesterSubway.com, I told you about Scott Grove, the artist you did some of the pieces in the Spiegelgarden. He’s invited me to visit him today at the Powers Building, where he’s doing restoration work. I’m going to ride up in the bucket for a bird’s eye view of the city. I have no idea what that’s going to be like, but you can be sure I’ll tell you all about it tomorrow!

You can find links to all of my posts from the Fringe here.

Leave a Reply

