50 thoughts on turning 50: #13 How to store celery

Wrapping your celery in aluminum foil keeps it fresh and crispy for a long time.

Wrapping your celery in aluminum foil keeps it fresh and crispy for a long time.

If you’re like me, cooking and other things that happen in a kitchen often turn into material for blog posts. And not in a good way. So when I find something that works, I like to share it.

Case in point? Storing your celery.

I can’t tell you how many times I’m making chicken salad or some other quick meal and I reach into the fridge for some celery, and all I find are soft, rubbery stalks of blech.

Dammit.

I could have bought celery when I was just at the store, but I knew I had just bought celery the week before and only used one stalk. Theoretically, I should have lots of fresh celery in the fridge. But no. So now I can have chicken salad with either no celery or rubber celery. Neither are very appetizing.

Happened to you? Well, I have a solution: aluminum foil.

Just wrap the celery completely in foil, and it'll stay fresh for a long time.

Just wrap the celery completely in foil, and it’ll stay fresh for a long time.

Yup. Just wrap the celery in aluminum foil. Get it all closed in, ends and all, and it’ll stay fresh in the fridge for … well, a really long time. Long enough that someone like me, who is useless in the kitchen and uses celery really quite sparingly, always has fresh, crunchy celery on hand.

What, you thought that everything I was going to share in my “50 thoughts on turning 50” was going to be deep and philosophical?

This post is part of my series, “50 thoughts on turning 50″. Read more here.

 

Leave a Reply

