50 thoughts on turning 50: #10 – I turn 50

Cary Grant Monkey Business meme with border

Well, folks, last Friday was the big day, the day I reached the top of the hill and started my slow decline down the other side.

Yup. I turned 50.

If I’m being honest, I haven’t had a single qualm about turning 50, although joking about it makes for some good column material. Each decade gets a little easier, and I feel a little more comfortable in my own skin.

For my birthday, darling husband and I spent the day at the Seneca Park Zoo and then went out to dinner with family. It was low key, relaxing and perfect.

Darling husband and I monkeying around at the zoo.

Darling husband and I monkeying around at the zoo.

In fact, as you can see from the photo, darling husband and I had a little fun at the zoo – you know, goofing around the way you can when you don’t care what anyone else thinks.

Which of course is one of the best things about growing older – feeling young without the maladjustment and near idiocy of youth. So here’s to being 50!

This post is part of my series, “50 thoughts on turning 50″. Read more here.

 

One response to “50 thoughts on turning 50: #10 – I turn 50

  1. I am 61 so I can tell you – aging isn’t always fun,but I would never go back to my 20’s. My 30’s, maybe. My 40’s, definitely.

Leave a Reply

