Oh, just be nice

So I’m doing some research for my next book – yeah, I’m on a roll – and I think I’ve decided to explore The Golden Rule.

Do unto others, don’t do unto others, be nice, love your neighbor, what goes around comes around. The problem is that the more I muse about what it means to “do unto others” the more others … well, really annoy me.

More people seem to be cutting me off in traffic. Almost every restaurant or fast food place gets my order wrong. My neighbor walked her dog to my front yard, then let the dog meander in my garden and pee on my flowers – while I was standing there.

I don’t know if I’m noticing more how irritating life with humans is, or if I’m just more sensitve to it because I’m thinking about it.

I think that I’m generally one of those “be nice” people. I go out of my way to write positive comment cards when I go to the grocery store, for example, because I believe that if I look for positive I find positive. Plus, I know more people complain than compliment so it feels like I’m somehow balancing out the universe. I wave “thank you” when someone lets me in their lane on the highway or stops to let me cross in a parking lot.

Of course, I called some guy an idiot today  when he turned right in front of me at an intersection when I had the right of way. And every morning I mutter curses when I’m awakened from a sound sleep by a guy on our street who lets his dog out at 5 am and shouts “Go poo poo!” for several minutes.

I’d like to think I’m a nice person. But maybe I’m just a persistant bitch, and I’m only seeing it now because I’m looking for it.

Either way, for a the next month or so I’ll be exploring the concept of being nice and asking for reader feedback. You can share here or on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/joannebrokawwriter.

And for today? Just try and be nice.

Leave a Reply

