I’ll never be a leader in my generation. I’m not even a leader in my dog pack.

“I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons. He has not created me for naught.”

     – Cardinal John Nenry Newman

* * * * * * *

So I’ve had this book idea rolling around in my head for a while. It’s a great idea. I even had an agent tell me he’d work with me if wrote the proposal. I never did anything with it. If you read my blog earlier this week, you know that fear of failure, fear of success, and a host of other fears keep me rooted in place more often than not.

Anyway, while doing some research for another idea I set out to contact a writer who I once worked with at another publication, and lo and behold, she has written a book that is very, very, eerily similar to my idea. Got a major endorsement from a famous name in Christian circles calling her the next leader in our generation, blah blah.

She didn’t steal my idea, I’m not saying that. It’s a very general idea, and once I can’t believe more people haven’t written about. She just wrote the stupid book I never did.

Someone once told me that God will get the job done, whether or not you obey when he gives you the assignment. Is that what happened?

Sigh. I’ll never be a leader in my generation. Shoot, I’m not even a leader in my own dog pack. Then again, maybe I’m not supposed to be a leader of my generation. I’m just supposed to do the job God gives me. If I fail, I have to believe he’ll use me again. I feel strongly, for example, that my mission right now is to be a voice for people who can’t find the words to say what they need to say or find a way to make people listen.

You know what? I don’t need fame or accolades to do that. As Cardinal John Henry Newman wrote:

“God has created me to do Him some definite service. He has committed some work to me which He has not committed to another. I have my mission. I may never know it in this life, but I shall be told it in the next. I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons. He has not created me for naught.”

7 responses to “I’ll never be a leader in my generation. I’m not even a leader in my dog pack.

  1. Hey Joanne!

    Maybe you should write the book anyways? You never know, maybe you will have better ideas than that other person. There are tons of books out there with the same topic. This doesn’t necessarily mean that God changed his mind. I am a firm believer that we are all leaders, maybe with different types of leadership. “… lead a life worthy of your calling for you have been called by God.” Eph. 4:1b

    Best wishes,
    Taylor

  2. Yes this absolutely true. If HE wanted you to write that book, you would have so devoted to do it, nothing could tear you away. so it wasn’t meant to be.

  3. Instead, it is meant for you to write the sequel! Baby, get cookn’!

    • Kathleen, if I had my own pep squad, you’d be the head cheerleader. You and my mom, of course. 🙂 You are without a doubt the most encouraging friend I’ve ever had, LOL!!
      Joanne

      • Maybe, because I’ve been jumping life’s heavy-hurdles all my life (even today); so, it comes naturally that when ever I see/hear of a problem my brain reacts to be creative and launch a solution. You don’t need a cheerleader, you just need to light-your-creative-fire! God Bless!!

  4. Pingback: Moving Forward With My Writing Career Requires Some Fear Busting « A Writer's Query

Leave a Reply

