Another “late bloomer” success story – which gives me hope, again

Not long ago I stumbled upon a popular series of books by Lilian Jackson Braun, “The Cat Who …” did just about everything under the sun. I don’t normally like series books but I’ve changed my tune, falling in love with these feline-fueled mysteries.

And today I learned that author Lilian Jackson Braun was a late blooming success!

Lilian Jackson  Braun wrote the first book in the series, “The Cat Who Read Backwards” in 1966, followed by two more novels, in 1967 and 1968. When the first book hit the shelves, Ms. Braun was 53! And then … she didn’t publish another book for 18 years.

She spent many years as a lifestyle writer and editor at The Detroit Free Press, retiring in 1978 . In 1986, she resumed the series, going on to publish dozens more best sellers. Her final book was published in 2007, she died last year at 97 – world renowned and beloved success.

Stories like this give me hope; at 47 I often feel like life had flown by and I’ve done nothing with it. But there’s a lot to be said for success later in life. Maybe I haven’t written a book or made a living writing … but stories like this remind me that there’s still time!

6 responses to “Another “late bloomer” success story – which gives me hope, again

  1. I read the cat who came for Christmas. I loved it. I will have to check out the rest.

  2. As a cat lover with two 20 lb. Maine Coon boys plotting world domination, I’ve had her books on my radar for ages. Didn’t realize she was a late bloomer. Just put her on my list to profile. Thanks, Joanne!

    • I’m normally really particular about reading books in a series in order, but I stumbled on these out of order and still found each one lots of fun. Of course, it’s more fun when I went back to the beginning. 🙂
      Joanne

  3. I love the “Cat Who…” books. I think I have the whole series.

  4. i found these books in my teens in the 80’s and continued to read them till it became obvious she was no longer writing them the quality of the stories had changed but i loved all the older ones and still do i was saddened to hear she passed

  5. I’m not much of a series lover and still in my 20’s, I believe I might as well give this a try and see if I find some inspiration!

Leave a Reply

