Writer finds success online

NPR’s “All Things Considered” did a story on Amanda Hocking, the bestselling author who found fame and fortune in e-publishing. They called it a Cinderella story – the writer rejected by every agent and publisher she approached, who essentially thumbed her nose at the traditional industry by putting her stories online.

She sold more than a million ebooks, and now the traditional publishers came looking for her. She’s signed a deal with St. Martin’s and her first book, “Switched”, is in stores now.

What I love about the story is that she had the tenacity to keep writing and to find an outlet for her work that generally brought in enough to fill her gas tank before taking off like a rocket. A million dollar rocket.

My favorite part of the story was this:

“It’s still totally unreal when I think about it,” she says. “It feels so weird to be able to just kind of buy things when I want them or need them.” Like a life-size replica of Han Solo encased in carbonite. It cost $7,000 and sits in her “movie room” — otherwise known as the basement.

You know you’ve made it big when you can plop down $7,000 for Han Solo in carbonite and then store him in your basement.

I think I’ll set a goal this year to finish one of Bandit’s books and put it online. If nothing else, it’ll make me feel like I’ve accomplished something, even if I never can afford Han Solo in carbonite. Which is good, because I’ve never really wanted Han Solo in carbonite. See, I’m feeling positive already!

Leave a Reply

