Adventure Girl strikes again, which is why Darling Husband may be a teeny bit cranky tomorrow

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

If you’ve ever wondered what it’s like to be married to Adventure Girl, just ask yourself, “Why is Darling Husband so cranky?”

I had the brilliant idea this week to put flower boxes on the gate that goes across the driveway to keep the dogs in the yard. It’s a wonderful gate that Darling Husband constructed after I experimented last summer with chicken wire and snow fencing. An unsuccessful experiment, I might add.

I thought the window boxes would serve two purposes: look pretty, and hopefully give the dogs a reason not to jump on the fence. Because these dogs jump on the fence and eventually someone is going over. (Again; last week Scout took a flying leap and sailed right over. But that was a fluke.) I figured a visual barrier would help.

I bought the boxes and gave Darling Husband instructions on where I wanted them hung, leaving him to figure out how to do it. He’s an exacting kind of guy and I knew he’d make sure it was done right. I could tell he had some doubts about what I was doing, but over the last year or so he’s stopped arguing with me. Or in his words, “I give up.”

And so he hung the boxes. And I planted the flowers. And doggone it, they look fantastic. Even he said so.

Then he brought up the one thing I hadn’t considered: that the weight of the boxes on one side of the fence might cause the gate to be unstable. I kind of remember him bringing that up before he started the project, but I ignored him, and he was in an amiable mood and figured this was one of those projects where, if it didn’t work out, it could be undone fairly easily.

So the plants look great. But sure enough, he’s right. Try and open the gate. It’s super top heavy.

Ooops.

So now he’s out there trying to figure out a way to shore up the gate without having to put a post actually into the driveway.

Darling Husband is a man of many ideas, some of them good, some of them exceedingly more complicated than they need to be. It’s best if I stay out of this fix it situation. The flowers look great, and he’s still in a pretty good mood from the success of that.

But if he’s cranky tomorrow at work, just know that it’s not your fault. Adventure Girl struck again.

5 responses to “Adventure Girl strikes again, which is why Darling Husband may be a teeny bit cranky tomorrow

  1. Maybe a small wheel at the bottom to help the entire gate to pivot?

  2. Oh rats! You already have a small wheel….. Nope, I’m out of ideas.

  3. LOL, its a weight issue. The planters are very light, but when the dirt is wet they’re very heavy. David rigged something up to strengthen the top but I’m sure he’ll be thinking about it for days until he fixes it to his satisfaction.

  4. Hmmmm, always something.

    How is Scout doing? Still enjoying life, we hope.

  5. So far so good! We passed the 30 day mark the oncologist said he’d have if we didn’t treat with chemo. He’s a little tired sometimes, but he’s eating, gained weight, just had a rousing swim at the creek, is playing with Bailey and Bandit. I’ll take it! Thanks for asking!

Leave a Reply

