And the diagnosis is …

I just got off the phone with Dr Koch, and the diagnosis is lymphoma. A high grade lymphoma, he said. If the … what do they call the person who reads these tests? A radiologist? … had only had the gastrointestinal samples it would have been inconclusive. But the lymph nodes in Scout’s neck and spleen were clear: lymphoma.

We’ll see an oncologist next week – is it bad I took the first appointment, which means I can’t work the first day I’m supposed to at my new job? – and decide where to go from here. No treatment means a quick decline; chemo may buy him some quality months and a teeny chance of a year. It comes at a cost of … we’re talking several thousand dollars.

I’m still trying to get my head around the fact that the dog who is romping around the back yard chasing soap bubbles is dying.

5 responses to “And the diagnosis is …

  1. Joanne, I am so sorry for you and for Scout. I can’t imagine what you are going through. You are in our prayers and if you need anything at all, please let me know… I can drive now!

  2. Joanne, I am very sorry to hear this diagnosis. I know you don’t know me but I’ve been reading your blogs for quite some time now. I lost my beloved Beagle to cancer last winter. When my days were the darkest, Bandit’s blog made me laugh, so thank him for me. It’s hard to know what to do and whether or not it’s the right thing for your friend. I used 2 simple criteria – she had to maintain a decent quality of life (not necessarily wrestlemania every day, but willing to go for walks, car rides, etc.) and she had to remain pain free. It’s not easy, but I know how very much you love Scout and you can do what’s best for him. Lots of love and kisses and special treats!

    • Teresa, even tho we’ve never met, I feel like all of my readers are friends. So I SOOOOOO appreciate your kind words! (And Bandit says thanks, too!) We’re taking things day by day; opted for no chemo, and I feel like we made the right decision. I’ll post an update soon!!! Hugs and love, and my condolences on your pup, too.

  3. I’m so, so sorry. I feel as if I’m losing a friend.

  4. Poor Scout! I’m so sorry for him…and you.

    I’m going through the same thing with my dog Joey. Only he’s 15 so I’m not opting for chemo.

    He’s doing ok now but once I see he is in pain, I guess I’ll have to put him to sleep.

    That will be the hardest thing I ever have had to do. Pet parenting is so rewarding but so hard sometimes too.

Leave a Reply

