A cough, a hookah and being cool (or not)

So I’ve been battling a raging cough for about … oh, a month. Yes, I have been too lazy to go to the doctor. Lazy and overloaded with sick dogs and other more important things. But I’m at the point where I can’t sleep, my husband can’t sleep, and I’m sure I’m keeping the neighbors up, too.

So I saw my doctor today. While there, I had a rip roaring bout of coughing that could be heard throughout the office, so the doctor gave me a nebulizer treatment. The nurse brought in a little machine and handed me a mouthpiece that had some smoke wafting out.

“What do I do with this?” I asked the doctor.

“Use it like a hookah or a peace pipe,” she said.

Clearly my doctor thinks I’m much cooler than I really am.

Leave a Reply

