So maybe I miss Christian music – but just a little

I interviewed Barry Graul this morning. He’s the guitarist for MercyMe. You know the band, even if you don’t know the name; their crossover hit “I Can Only Imagine” was huge. Today we talked about loving your neighbor, because the band is on the road in support of their most recent project, “The Generous Mr. Lovewell.” (The article will run in the June issue of the Christian Voice Magazine.)

It was a great conversation. And for just a minute, I missed Christian music. I missed talking to artists; I missed chatting with band members, tossing around thoughts and ideas outside of the normal “how did your band get its name” questions.

But it only lasted a minute. When I hung up the phone, I remembered that covering Christian music on a daily basis also meant receiving piles of redundant & uninspiring CDs every week, and fluff and phonies, and dealing with readers so entrenched in the Christian consumer culture that they forgot about Jesus.

I needed today’s interview, if only to remind myself of the things I used to really enjoy about covering Christian music.

And now … on to write a dog article.

One response to “So maybe I miss Christian music – but just a little

  1. “readers so entrenched in the Christian consumer culture that they forgot about Jesus.”

    Yeah, I’ve seen this. It especially bugs me how Christian radio stations put so much emphasis on how crucial the music is for the christian walk, yet fail to even mention the importance of scripture.

Leave a Reply

