Men come to aid of stabbing victim – just another way to love your neighbor

Last night, a Henrietta teen stabbed his girlfriend in the frozen food section of the Wegmans on Calkins Rd. It sounds like a scene from some crime TV show.

But apparently 18-year-old Kevin Minemier and his girlfriend, 17-year-old Nicole Bean, were shopping when Minemier took out a knife and started stabbing Bean. Right away, shoppers Mustafa Said, 19, and Christopher Patino, 16 came to Bean’s aid, fighting Minemier to the ground; Said was stabbed in the hand in the process. Other shoppers helped hold Minemier until police arrived.

I wonder what I’d do in that situation.

I once stopped at Burger King on my way to a writers’ meeting. Outside of the restaurant a guy and a girl were having an argument. It seemed a little heated, and I kept my eye on the situation as I got my food. The girl looked like she might already have a black eye, but it was dark out and hard to see for sure. The guy tried to wrestle her car keys away as I walked out of the restaurant.

I looked at the girl and asked if everything was OK, and she said she was fine, to just leave them alone. The guy took a step toward me and glared. Then he threw her car keys onto the  Burger King roof. I walked to my car, trying not to make eye contact with the guy for fear of escalating his temper. I didn’t know what to do. I was no match for him, and I didn’t want to make things worse for her. But I didn’t want to leave her, either. 

As I walked back to my car, I saw the guy pull the girl into a car and they sped away. I called the police from my cell phone to give them a description of the car and … well, then I went to my meeting. I didn’t know what else to do.

That’s why it’s so impressive that Mustafa Said and Christopher Patino stepped in last night. They didn’t care about what happened to them; they saw a girl in desperate need and rushed to her aid. Said ended up in the hospital for treatment for the serious knife wound to his hand, but both men could have been seriously injured or killed.

I think that’s what Jesus means when talks about loving your neighbor. It means stepping in where there’s a need without regard for yourself. It’s not something most of us could do; obviously, I couldn’t.

2 responses to “Men come to aid of stabbing victim – just another way to love your neighbor

  1. I remember waking up to the sound of a woman screaming “Please help! I’m being raped!” By the time I woke up enough to register reality and had found my phone, the car in front of my house was gone and I couldn’t give the police a description. That moment has haunted me for over 30 years and now I get sort of “assertive” when I see obvious abuse. Maybe this incident is sensitizing you now, so that you will be able to help someone else in the future. We can never second guess our lives, can we?

    • You’re right – I’m still more likely to at least ask if someone is OK, if they need help, and to at least alert someone who can help if I think it’s more than I can. I don’t know if I’d jump in if someone had a knift, but then again, who knows what we’d do. I’m just so glad those kids stepped in.

Leave a Reply

