Merry Christmas and on to 2011

It’s hard to believe it, but Christmas is over. In the blink of an eye, done.

This year, we went easy on the gifts, the planning, and the hoopdela. Which made Christmas morning quilt-free. We didn’t over spend, over buy or over indulge. We  bought a few gifts, had lots of fun with family on Christmas day, and napped a bunch. (Well, I napped, anyway. And watched a lot of TV.)

But I didn’t set foot in a Walmart even once.

Oh, I was tempted, believe me. There were a few times I wanted something and I knew Walmart would have it.

For example, I bought a lovely bottle of brandy, just for kicks, and wanted some brandy snifters. I couldn’t find them anywhere I had normally been shopping. Namely Target. I tried Big Lots and the grocery, both of which had a lovely selection of glassware for the holidays. I was sure that the mall stores had glassware, but I’d been to Eastview once and wasn’t at all interested in fighting the traffic to go back.

But Walmart? They’re open 24 hours a day. No traffic at 10 PM, right?

In the end, I went to Bed, Bath and Beyond and found a very lovely set off four brandy snifters for $20. And I felt pretty good about that purchase.

So here I am with less than a week to go in 2010, and now that Christmas is behind me I can start thinking about the new year and my plan for adventure.

The big question: if I’m going to live like I believe what Jesus taught is actually true, what should that life look like?

Leave a Reply

