31 days without Walmart – Day 10 and I cheat a little

I confess. I went to Big Lots to get tins to ship cookies.

Forgive me consumers, for I have sinned. I went to a StuffMart.

Not Walmart, but just as bad: Target. And OK, Big Lots.

As you know, last week, I went to  Big Lots to get tablecloths for my husband’s family Christmas party, saving at least $7 on a disposable item. But I’m trying to avoid discount stores at all costs, in the interests of going 31 days without a StuffMart.

But yesterday I went to Big Lots to get Christmas tins to ship cookies and other edible treats. I knew they had them cheap; I didn’t even look at the labels, but yup, they’re made in China. I didn’t even think about it. I needed something I knew they had inexpensively, so I went there. I was on autopilot.

Today, I’ve been on a quest to find something to keep the chicken waterer from freezing. I started at Country Max but couldn’t afford a heater ($52) and the heated dog water bowl is too deep. So I thought I’d try Beyond Hardware, the local hardware store. Which just happens to be in the Target plaza.

I figured if Target had a heated dog water bowl it might be cheaper than the hardware store. I confess, it was tempting to go check out the discount clothing racks. And I had to shield my eyes as I went by my biggest temptation: the book section.

I did make two purchases: a bottle of Aveeno fragrance free body wash and a box of Feline Pine cat litter that was on sale. Things I need at prices that saved me little money.

I feel a little guilty; normally, I’d get the Aveeno at Walmart (same price) and the litter at Wegmans (a dollar or two more since what I got at Target was on sale). So I’m avoiding Walmart and going to Target instead? Kind of defeats the purpose of the experiment. And I’m not out of either of those items. I didn’t need to buy them.

But I am proud of myself for not getting distracted by shiny stuff. No clearance racks of clothing I don’t need, no books to add to the huge pile next to my bed.

In the end, I didn’t find anything that I could use to keep the water from freezing in the henhouse. I have a 250 watt heat lamp in there already; I just lowered it closer to the metal waterer and am crossing my fingers that the stupid chickens don’t think I just gave them a new swing.

As for the Big Lots tins: I bought more than I needed, because I didn’t want to have to go back. Hopefully, I can return what I don’t use.

So I spent $0 on what I needed, and about $15 at Target on two things I will need eventually. And about $25 on a bunch of tins to ship goodies for gifts.

Of course, I haven’t even begun to Christmas shop yet. Make a list, make a list, make a list …

3 responses to “31 days without Walmart – Day 10 and I cheat a little

  1. You should try Michaels. They have bakery style boxes that are super cheap…not sure where they’re made though

  2. Pingback: Shop Till I Drop…You! « K8's Krazy Thoughts

Leave a Reply

