My Thanksgiving baking adventure

I like baking. I’m just not that good at it. In fact, I really can’t cook at all. I try, I really do. But inevitably something happens that screws up the whole dish. Martha Stewart, I am definitely not.

Today I was making pies for Thanksgiving. Since I’ve been having such good luck with my pie crusts, I decided to make crust from scratch – rather than buying the Pillsbury already-made crust that you just unroll.

I also decided to use canned organic pumpkin. For the apple pie, I used organic cameo apples. I thought it would be nice to use some higher quality ingredients.

Big plans for the holiday dessert. Of course, things never turn out the way I plan.

Problem #1: I just can’t roll out a pie crust big enough for a big pie. I’m good with the tart sized dishes. So I ended up having to patch together the crust. The edges are all uneven.

I can't roll out a pie crust to save my life. So I just patch the dough together and hope for the best.

Problem #2: I followed the directions on the pumpkin pie can, but for some reason the filling didn’t seem right. The eggs were a little bit … unbeaten. The directions called for me to add “lightly beaten” eggs and mix just until the ingredients were mixed. After it was baked, it seemed a bit spotty. Thank goodness for whipped cream!

I think those spots are from where the eggs weren't totally mixed.

Problem #3: While I was mixing the pumpkin pie filling, Bandit licked both empty pie shells.

Problem #4: After peeling the apples, I realized that I was a little short. I peeled and sliced 5 apples. I needed 6. I bought six. But I ate one yesterday. Damn.

Problem #5: After baking the pumpkin pie, I forgot to change the temperature on the oven from 350 degrees to 425 degrees for the apple pie. So after the required 40  minutes of baking, said apple pie was raw. I changed the temp and baked for another 1/2 hour.

Let's hope the apple pie tastes better than it looks!

Hopefully, the pies taste better than they look. At least Bandit liked the pie crust.

3 responses to “My Thanksgiving baking adventure

  1. I love thanksgiving pies… Happy Holidays

  2. So how dit it go? How’s the taste?

    Raymund
    http://angsarap.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

