Why I don’t eat organic more often

I was at a local natural foods/organic store today because I needed cheese puffs.

I’ve been eating cheese puffs for the past few days, in fact have gone through two bags of the flouresent orange delights. Don’t ask me why I gave in and bought them to begin with; I normally eschew foods with artificial colors and flavors, and this stuff is loaded with both. But I had such a craving that I made a special treat to Wegmans to buy some. And once I started eating them, I couldn’t stop.

Of course, the craving for cheese puffs was accompanied by cravings for other crap food – which is probably why I was so cranky last week.

So today, I thought I’d head out to the natural food store to see if there was such a thing as organic or natural cheese puffs.

And what do you know? There is! Yay for me!

While I was there, I got some dried cranberries and an orange (I’m now craving cranberry orange scones), a squash, apples, some turbinado sugar, organic popcorn, beets, potatoes, and some loose tea. Total bill: $14. A little more than Wegmans but better in the long run.

Which gave me pause: Last summer I bought most of our food at the public market. This summer, I haven’t been once. And you should know that our public market was named best in the nation. It’s a great place to get locally grown, organic or sustainably farmed food, including meat.

So as I wandered the aisles at the natural food store today I thought, Gee, I really should come here more often.

Then I remembered why I don’t: I don’t know what half this stuff on the shelves is.

Quinoa?  Bulgar wheat? Couscous (not in a box already mixed with seasoning)? Basmati rice? A bazillion different kinds of flour?

Seriously, my cooking skills are limited to the basics: instant rice, flour in a bag, stuff like that.

I asked one of the store employees if they had an recipe cards or did cooking classes for people interested in exploring new foods. She kind of looked at me like I was an idiot and suggested I go online to a recipe website.

I wouldn’t begin to know what to look for. The idea of going vegetarian boggles my mind. I wouldn’t know what to eat.

Fortunately, I’ve been able to find organic or local alternatives to most things I know how to cook, even though I’d like to experiment with some new stuff. Tonight, I’m roasting pork tenderloin (not organic, but from Palmers) stuffed with apples (organic). I’m going to roast an acorn squash (organic) and some beets (organic) and make David potatoes (organic, locally grown).

And for a late night snack: organic cheese puffs. I may not know much about grains. But cheese puffs? Now there’s something I can sink my teeth into.

2 responses to “Why I don’t eat organic more often

  1. Had no idea you were a cheese puff girl! I completely understand… one day, I’m fine. The next, I’m craving their fake cheesy goodness. And you can never just eat a few.

    • I actually found a brand at the natural food store that has no artificial colors or flavors or hydrodonated stuff, LOL. So I don’t feel quite so guilty! If there’s ever another GMA week, I’ll bring a bag. 🙂

Leave a Reply

