Fall, the best & worst of times

Fall. It’s the best of times. It’s the worst of times.

I love the smell of the air, the scent of fireplace wood burning, the leaves swirling around my head as I toss the ball to the dogs in the backyard. I love the feel of the air, that fresh undercurrent of cold air blowing away the heat and dust of summer.

I hate the cold and the dark, the way my mind and body seem to go into hibernation. I can’t think, I can’t write, I can’t think about writing.

And things get worse: my camera broke.

Lately, I’ve really been enjoying taking pictures. I have this crappy, stupid little Nikon Coolpix pocket point & shoot. I’m limited sometimes in what I want to do, but when I can put into words what is in my mind, I’ve at least been able to play around with images. It’s a different way to be creative and I like that.

Well, a couple of weeks ago the stupid camera bit the dust and I’m not going to fork over $130 for another one. This time, I’m going for the big guns – OK, semi-big guns. If I could afford it, I’d get a DSLR; but since I can’t I’ll go half way. I’ve been doing research and playing around with the cameras at Rowe, and I think I may go for the  Nikon P100, altho one sales rep recommended the Panasonic Lumex F235 for the Leica lens. Now I just have to come up with the money.

But I digress.

I understand why so many people get depressed in the fall. What’s worse, I’m finished blogging at Beliefnet (and I haven’t really come up with another good blog idea to pitch) and I’m taking a break from my music column, so my income is down to zero. Literally, nothing. (Hence, no camera.) And while I’m really enjoying the dog blogging, I’m starting from square one building a readership.

Mostly because I just can’t get myself into the blog. Mostly, I’m doing third person stuff, adoption stories, updates, newsy stuff. But the key to good blogging is being personal with your readers, and I just can’t get there right now.

It’s fall. It’s all I can do to get up in the morning and get dressed.

That’s the bad news. The good news is that I’m aware of the problem, which is half the battle. What I need to do is take a class or something, get out and get my brain functioning.

But that’s not easy. At 9 a.m., even the dogs are curled up on the couch sound asleep, and the temptation to join them is too overpowering.

2 responses to “Fall, the best & worst of times

  1. Do you think you’ll ever go back to writing about music?

    • I still do cover music – just not on a daily basis. So when Christian Voice Magazine or one of the other publications I write for needs me do a story or interview, for example, I definitely will do it. And I may go back to doing the column. I just got so burned out having to come up with stories every day. I needed a break!

Leave a Reply

