Desiring to complete … what?

William Faulkner's Underwood Universal Portabl...

Image via Wikipedia

 In my daily Bible reading this week, a passage kind of stuck with me. It’s 2 Corinthians 8:10,11:

10 And in this I give advice: It is to your advantage not only to be doing what you began and were desiring to do a year ago; 11 but now you also must complete the doing of it; that as there was a readiness to desire it, so there also may be a completion out of what you have.

Call me crazy, but I believe that God talks to us through His word and through circumstance, so when I’m reading the Bible and something really jumps out at me, or sticks in my mind, or gets under my skin, I take it seriously.

And God knows completing things is not my strong suit. I can use all of the reminders I can get.

The big question is … what was I desiring to complete a year ago? 

I know that Paul is speaking to the Corinthians about something ministry-related, and ironically I’m pretty sure there is at least one project I was working on a year ago that would fall into that category. Namely either the Missions for Chickens book or the 101 Ways To Love Your Neighbor.

Both are in some stage of completion, but I keep getting sidetracked. Or, if I’m being honest, I let myself be sidetracked.

When I look in my journals from 2009 at this time, I’m writing about the chickens, and I think the project I had in mind was a year of suburban chicken “farming.” A.k.a. Notes From The Funny Farm. I had been reading several books by authors who took a year to do something – read the Encyclopedia Brittanica, visit childhood friends, enroll in a Christian college – and then write about it. I love those kind of books, so I thought, Hey, why don’t I write one?

Why? Because I start things and then never finish. I’ve always joked that I’m going to write a book called Books I Never Wrote, with just the plot summaries of every book idea I’ve had.

In other words, there are lots of things I’m desiring to complete. 

Just another one of the things that keep me up at night.

3 responses to “Desiring to complete … what?

  1. Fear of completion? Fear of failure? I just finished reading a book called “5,” and it kind of asks you to think about where you’d like to be in 5 years and to map out some action steps to get you there.

    Like, I want my dang ms. published. (Sound familiar?) Well, I have to stop saying it, and really commit to doing it. The edits. Taking the time away from my family, if necessary to really get it done. I don’t want to go much longer with that list of things I haven’t finished. It doesn’t feel good to me.

    So, as soon as this semester is over, that’s it. No more Little Miss Nice Girl. Less Blogging and more writing with the purpose to be published. Are you with me?

    Come visit me.
    http://rasjacobson.wordpress.com

  2. Girl, I am good at kicking pants. I just don’t like it when there are people inside them. 😉

Leave a Reply

