Kittens at the shelter (video)

 

I went over to the shelter this morning to learn how to take photos of the cats so that I can hopefully lend a hand once in a while. I say “hopefully” because if I’ve learned anything, it’s that I’m often more of a hinderance than a help to the folks at RAS. Thank goodness everyone is so patient with me.

I think I got the computer stuff down OK; I took good notes. But as for the photos? All I can say is that it’s going to take me a while to figure out how to open a cat cage, get the cat to sit still, then take a photo and not have anyone escape.

I opened one cage and while I was trying to snap a photo of one kitten, it’s companion leapt over my head out of the cage and onto my back. Across the aisle in another cage, a kitten reached out and batted all of the paperwork out of the holders and onto the floor.

These two kittens in this video cracked me up. The black kitty is high on catnip, I think, because he was going nonstop the whole time I was there. He’d reach out with both paws and grab anything that went in front of the cage – people, paper, you name it. If he could have squeezed his head through the bars he would have been out. Both kittens are just a few weeks old.

The white kitten seems so mild mannered, but watch what happens when he catches sight of the black kitten’s tail. It’s almost like he doesn’t know it’s connected to the kitten that was just all over him. He reached out. And then whomp! Wrestling match.

I wish we could set up a kitty cam, because it’s hilarious watching the kittens.

Leave a Reply

