All of that noise was in the coop this morning

I was sound asleep this morning, dreaming about chickens, when through my fog I realized that I was actually hearing my own chickens.

There was quite a bit of bawking going on out in the hen house. I waited a few minutes, because it’s not unusual for the girls to do some bragging when they lay an egg. But this was longer and louder than normal, and involved what sounded like the whole flock.

So I dragged myself out of bed before they woke the neighbors and went out to see what was going on.

When I opened the hen house door the girls poured out , and when I opened the egg box there was a ginormous egg in there.

Well, I can see what all of the fuss was about. I don’t know who laid it, but all of the girls were quite proud of it.

I would love to be able to show you a picture of the egg, but when I came in the house it slipped from my hands and squashed on the floor.

But if you’re one of my neighbors and heard the to do, my apologies. Normally the hen sounds are masked by the birds – especially the geese and blue jays – but today we did our part to annoy the neighborhood.

Visit my new blog, Notes From The Funny Farm, and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a comment