Am I a Food Renegade?

I am a Food RENEGADE!I came across a site today that is super cool – it’s about being a food renegade, which the site describes as “lovers of SOLE (Sustainable, Organic, Local, and Ethical) food, traditional food, primal food, REAL food, the list goes on.” (I found the site on a blog where the author was talking about her addiction to baggies; yay, I’m not alone in my ziploc addiction!)

I’m not necessarily sold on the benefits of only raw food; there are some foods that are more nutritious when cooked. I don’t know if I can drink raw milk. And while I love grass-fed meats, I can’t always afford it.

But I’m definitely a “label nazi” and I almost never use processed foods. I use butter, and almost always organic butter and when I can find it, from grass fed cows. Of course, I’m not the only one who lives in my house, so I’m not a purist.  Darling husband likes margarine and chips and is addicted to Diet Coke. And I love a nice cold regular Coke once in a while.

In other words, I’m thinking healthy and living realistically, trying as best I can to balance the two. I don’t know if it makes me a food renegade, or just a wannabe.

But this site is really informative. If you’re interested in sustainably farmed foods, organics, etc. check it Food Renegade.

RELATED FUNNY FARM POSTS:

2 responses to “Am I a Food Renegade?

  1. Yes! I love the food renegade site. It’s got so much info and many points of view.

    I wanted to comment on raw milk here if I may, since you mentioned it. I run a teeny-tiny goat farm and most of the people who ask for our milk need it to feed their infants. They usually have tried many other options before finding us (we try to be a little hard to find). So far, the goat milk has worked for all of them. It’s so rich in vitamins and nutrients because the milk is in its natural form. Just sayin’ REAL MILK RULES!

    • I’m so glad you commented! I forgot to put the link to your blog in that post.

      I think my aversion to raw milk is all mental, LOL. I have gotten milk from an area dairy farm where the cows are all grass fed and the milk is sooo rich. I can’t do the whole milk, have to do 2%. It has cream on top. It’s fantastic. But I guess I assumed it was pasturized. Maybe I was wrong! My dad says his raw milk has cream on top.

      See, I’m still learning. 🙂

Leave a Reply

