I have Popeyes’ chicken for dinner and eat forty-leven million calories

For nutritional information, visit http://www.popeyes.com

Last night I saw a commercial for KFC and suddenly had a craving for chicken. There’s no KFC near us so we splurged and went to Popeyes. 

Understand that I rarely eat fast food. (Tim Horton’s coffee and a donut doesn’t count, right?) I’m not against fast food, but in my quest to try and avoid mass produced, overly processed food I prefer to make meals at home. But I’m a terrible – and lazy – cook and last night take out chicken sounded great. 

And let me tell you, it was. I had chicken tenders, cole slaw, mashed potatoes with gravy, a biscuit and an apple turnover.  Yuuuummmm.

I figure I ate about forty-leven million calories. So just for kicks I looked up the nutritional value of my meal. Turns, out, I’m not far off. Here’s what I ate:

 

3 CHICKEN TENDERS: 

375 calories
33 g protein
24 g carbs
17 g fat
1 g trans fat
7 g saturated fat
84 mg cholesterol
1620 mg of sodium 

BISCUIT: 

240 calories
4 g protein
26 g carbs
1 g dietary fiber
2 g sugar
13 g fat
7 g saturated fat
490 mb sodium 

MASHED POTATOES WITH GRAVY: 

120 calories
3 g protein
18 g carbs
2 g dietary fiber
4 g fat
2 g saturated fat
5 mg cholesterol
570 mg sodium 

COLE SLAW: 

260 calories
<1 g protein
14 g carbs
9 g dietary fiber
15 g sugar
23 g fat
3.5 g saturated fat
15 mg cholesterol
260 mg sodium 

APPLE PIE: 

250 calories
3 g protein
34 g carbs
2 g dietary fiber
11 g sugars
12 g fat
1 g trans fat
4 g saturated fat
5 mg cholesterol
320 mg sodium 

GRAND TOTAL: 

Calories: 1245
Protein: 44 g
Carbs: 116 g
Dietary fiber: 14 g
Sugar: 28 g
Fat: 69 g
Trans fat: 2 g
Saturated fat: 23.5
Cholesterol: 109 mg
Sodium: 3260 mg 

I’m no dietician, but I’m pretty sure I ingested a day or two’s worth of sodium, fat, saturated fat, cholesterol and calories at one sitting. 

Trust me, I enjoyed every minute of that dinner. But it isn’t hard to see how people who consume fast food on a daily basis can become overweight and unhealthy. 

And broke. Our entire order was for a 5 pc tenders, one order of popcorn shrimp, a large mashed potatoes that we shared, a small cole slaw, and two apple pies. Total was about $21. 

The costs to your health and wallet really add up when you’re eating like this every day. 

So tell me: How often do you eat fast food? Do you check the nutritional charts when you eat in restaurants? And are you surprised by those numbers?

2 responses to “I have Popeyes’ chicken for dinner and eat forty-leven million calories

  1. Pingback: Nick Tahou’s Garbage Plate one of 50 Fattiest Foods in America « Notes From The Funny Farm

  2. Pingback: Am I a Food Renegade? « Notes From The Funny Farm

Leave a Reply

