Mimi goes missing

I had to run errands this morning and when I got home I went to check the egg box. Inside, Mimi and Gidget’s cardboard hideaway was tipped over – and Mimi was gone. Gidget was all by herself, looking a little confused.

Mim wasn’t inside the coop. She wasn’t out in the run with the other hens. I couldn’t see her or hear her, and I couldn’t imagine where she’d gone.

I got on my hands and knees and peeked into the little space under the nesting boxes where she and Gidget have been hiding – no Mimi. I looked all around the yard; there isn’t really any place to hide except behind the garbage can – no Mimi.

After Lucy and Ethel were laying eggs under the coop David had closed up their ability to get under the coop or to the back run space, but I got on my hands and knees, moved some boards and looked underneath – no Mimi.

Then I glanced out the back window, and there she was, in the run behind the coop. She had somehow managed to find a teeny little space between the boards and went under the coop and then behind. I went around to get her; she was fluffed up and nestled into the leaves and dirt. Apparently she went exploring, got lost, and was waiting until she was rescued.

Gidget was thrilled to be reunited, and they’ve spent the rest of the day hanging out on the top roosting perch.

Visit my new blog, Notes From The Funny Farm, and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

