Lucy and Ethel find a perfect place to lay their eggs

I’ve told you before that Lucy and Ethel are now the only two chickens who can scrunch down far enough to walk under the chicken coop and get behind to the small extra space David built behind the hen house.

Well, today I heard Lucy squawking and I thought she was behind the henhouse, but when I crouched down I could see her sitting under the hen house, surrounded by some eggs.

Apparently she – and maybe Ethel – have been going under the coop to lay eggs. I have no idea how long they’ve been there, but I had to block off their access space today. I can’t reach all the way under there if they start laying more and I can’t have eggs rotting under the coop this summer.

I love Lucy and Ethel. They always do something unusual to keep me laughing.

Visit my new blog, Notes From The Funny Farm, and don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

