Locked out at the Funny Farm

Well, things at the Funny Farm just keep getting funnier and funnier.

Tonight, I went out to the coop to check on the girls, and David was out looking at the fence along the hedge to see how he was going to replace a section. While I was leaving Camp Cluck David was coming in with a rake so he could fill in the hole to China that the girls are digging.

Scout and Bandit engaged in their normal wrestling in the yard.

I went into the house, took a tray of cookies out of the oven, and watched a little TV while I waited for the next tray to finish baking.

I could hear David’s cell phone ringing in the basement and figured once this tray of cookies was finished I’d go tell him he missed a call. Even when he’s at home work calls. (But that’s another story.) I could also hear Scout and Bandit barking outside and figured I’d go get them so David could work in peace.

After about 10 minutes, I was taking the last tray of cookies out of the oven when David came bursting in with the dogs, and said, “I don’t know which of you three is the worst!”

“You,” he pointed to me,” locked me in the chicken coop! And these two,” he pointed to the dogs, “ignored me when I said, ‘Go get Mommy!'”

At least he was laughing.

Apparently, as I left Camp Cluck, I threw the lock on the screen door without even thinking about it. You can only open it from the outside. And because David made the run completely critter proof, the screen mesh is too small to get your hand through to reach around and open it.

So he started calling the dogs, telling them to come and get me. Which sometimes works, if they think we’re playing a game.

Except our neighbor came home about then and Scout and Bandit were more interested in barking at Tina than they were at helping Daddy escape from Camp Cluck.

Eventually, David realized he could take the screw out of the lock mechanism and just remove it from the inside to open the door.

It’s a good thing I married a man with a good sense of humor. Or else I might be sleeping with the chickens tonight!

Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

