Houston, we have an egg!

It’s a banner day here at Camp Cluck. Someone laid an egg!
I went out at 8 AM to let the dogs out and open the coop, and as usual, the girls were waiting at the door to come outside. When I went inside the coop to fill the water bowl, I noticed the nesting boxes were tipped over, but I didn’t think much about it. I think those birds have wild all night parties sometimes.
When I went outside at about 9:30 AM to just say hello and see what they were doing, there was an egg in the snow! I don’t have any idea who laid it or why they chose to lay it outside in the snow instead of inside in the box, but Ethel came right over to show it to me.
An egg!
Polish chickens lay white eggs, so we know neither Lucy or Ethel laid this one. Rhode Island Reds, Orpingtons and Wyandottes lay brown eggs, and Sussex lay light brown eggs. So if I had to take a guess, I’d guess that Coco laid this one because it’s so pale brown.

Not that it matters. They all seem quite proud of it!

There’s no way I’m eating this egg. I called David at work and he suggested I do the old egg blowing trick and empty it and then keep the shell. I think he’s right. I can’t eat this.
This just goes to show that the only person at the farm store where I get my supplies who knows what they’re talking about is Amanda. I’ve gotten the wrong advice about that stupid waterer (no, you don’t cut another hole in the top, even I knew that). And when I was there to get food last week the women who helped me told me I wouldn’t get eggs until the hens were at least 8  months old, despite the fact that everything I’ve read said 4 months, or a little later if it was cold weather. Bam, like clockwork, 4 1/2 months and we have our first egg. The woman also said the eggs would be misshapen. Nope, this is the most perfect egg I’ve ever seen. I’m only taking chicken advice from Amanda or Joyce at MyPetChicken.com.
Anyway, it’s a day for celebration at Camp Cluck. If I had a car, I’d go get the girls some mealworms to celebrate! They’ll have to do with apples.
2 responses to “Houston, we have an egg!

  1. My grandma, Joyce definitely knows what she is talking about.:)and congrats!!I'm pretty sure we ate our first egg. haha

  2. Shelby, your grandma is definitely The Chicken Goddess. 🙂 I want to be like her when I grow up!Joanne

Leave a Reply

