Stinky stores and shopping diversions

By and large, I try to stay out of stores. I end up spending money I don’t have to spend on things I really don’t need.

But today I needed to get some paraffin wax refills for my hand dipper thing and the next book in the Stephanie Plum series that I’m reading.

I say “needed” a bit tongue in cheek. I mean, really. Who “needs” books and beauty products?

Anyway, I went to the beauty supply store where I normally get my paraffin wax, and of course, they were not only out of wax but the girl who helped me said they’re likely discontinuing the product I use. Great. I’ve been buying the stuff there so I can get points to get free stuff and now I have points for stuff they won’t be selling anymore. Story of my life.

So I headed to the store where I got the hand dipper thing – let’s just say they sell stuff for your bed and stuff for your bath and stuff beyond that – to see if they had refills.

Well, I walked into the store and was hit with the overpowering stench of what smelled like old fruit and spice. I mean, it was so bad I had to pull my scarf over my head. I thought it was just something in the entryway, so after I got into the towel section I took off the scarf and took a gulp of fresh air. Or rather, more stinky air.

Understand that I’m super sensitive to smells, so I understand that other people might have thought the smell of what was obviously air freshener was pleasant. But the lady next to me said, “Whoa, it does stink in here, doesn’t it?”

Yup. In fact, it was so bad that I grabbed two boxes of paraffin – so I don’t have to go back soon – and ran to the check out with my scarf over my nose.

Right past the clearance stuff, past the stuff on sale, and not even near the aisles where there was other stuff I would have looked at had I been able to breathe.

Like I said, once I get in a store, I spend money.

The check out guy asked me how I was doing.”What is that smell? I can’t even shop,” I explained. “And trust me, I am in the mood to shop. But the smell is so bad I have to leave. ” He asked me if it smelled like grapefruit, because it was probably the stuff they sell to make your closets smell good.

No, it doesn’t smell like grapefruit, and if my closet smelled like that I would hope the homicide detectives were called in to investigate.

Check out guy didn’t even say something like, oh, I don’t know, “Gee, I’m sorry. I hope you come back another time.” Just bagged my wax and sent me on my way.

So I can only assume that my husband called the store and said, “Do something to get her out of that store as soon as possible before I go broke.”

If so? Mission accomplished!

Visit the Great Chicken Adventure blog and the It’s A Dog’s Life blog. Don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

