It's time to name the chicks!

Now that the chicks are a few days old and I’m starting to see some personality, it’s time to give them names! Here are pics of the chicks, with links to what they’ll look like full grown. I’ve also included some name ideas I’ve come up with so far. Your input is most welcome!

ORPINGTON
This little chick we think is the Oprington. She’s curious, calm, usually the last to fall asleep. I was thinking of naming her Harriet, after Harriet the Spy, one of my favorite childhood literary characters. I told David maybe I should name her Edna, as in Edna Kravitz on Bewitched, since she’s always watching to see what everyone else is doing. Here’s what an adult Orpington looks like.
* * * * * * * *

RHODE ISLAND RED

I’ve been calling this one Mrs. Wiggins. She’s often walking around the brooder, just checking things out. She’s the first to come to see me when I come on the porch and while I don’t think she necessarily loves me picking her up, once I do she sits very calmly on my lap or in my hands. She seems to like Bandit; he sniffed her, she pecked his nose. (Perhaps he’s her Mr. Tudball?) Here’s what an adult Rhode Island Red looks like.

* * * * * * * *

BUFF BEARDED POLISH

These two are a pair, so my first thought was Lucy and Ethel. I can’t tell them apart, although one seems a bit more willing to be picked up than the other. They’re the ones that sleep like they’re dead; they’re quite amusing. But the best part is what they’re going to look like when they’re grown. Everyone told me that have great personality, even though they’re not super egg layers.

* * * * * * * *

WYANDOTTE (Nope, actually the Sussex)


This chick is friendly, doesn’t really love being held but will sit nicely if she has to. I’ve been calling her CoCo, because the Wyandotte is going to be one of the coolest looking chicks; the feathers are all outlined in black, with gold inside. Seemed like a fashionable name for a fashionable chick. (I had also thought about Paloma.) Check out an adult Wyandotte.

* * * * * * * *

SUSSEX (Nope, actually the Wyandotte)

This little chick is definitely the most tame. She seems to like being held, and calmly lets Bandit sniff her. He even licked her a few times the other day. When Mike the postman came to see the chicks, Bandit gave her a lick, she jumped from my hands and then waited for me to pick her up. I thought about naming her Eleanor; Joyce is the one who suggested I get a Sussex and told me about her Sussex Lenore. I thought it might be a nice tribute. Then again, Charlotte seems like a good chicken name. But I know someone named Charlotte and it seems weird to have a chicken named that. Here’s an adult Sussex.

Feel free to leave your name suggestions in the comment section. I’ve fixed the problems (I hope).

UPDATE: OH NO! I have the bird breeds mixed up! Big surprise, eh? That’s what happens when one scatter brained writer who is distracted by two Border collies all day gets the flu. I’m screw even more things up than normal!

So apparently the chick I’ve been calling a Sussex is actually the Wyandotte, and the Wyandotte is actually the Sussex. Which means that Eleanor is actually CoCo and vice versa. Sigh. This changes everything. Good thing I haven’t settled on names. For the most part, I’ve just been calling them Chickie Baby.

Don”t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

