The Great Chicken Project: personality and productivity

I talked today with Jim at Nature Berry Farm about getting some chicks. Unfortunately, they really won’t have any of what I’d like until spring. But he will have some Golden Comets in October. The Coment, he said, is a great egg producer.

I told him I wasn’t super concerned about the amount of eggs I’d get; since these would be pets joining our family of dogs and cat, I was more concerned about temperment. So I’d take moderate layers in exchange for some personality.

That’s good, he explained, because the really good egg layers tend to have the least amount of personality.

Egg layers are kind of like writers, I guess. The ones with the most personality are the least productive. I can relate to that.

Bawk, bawk!

Follow me on Twitter!

Leave a Reply

