Dizzy, dizzy, dizzy

So last week I had a bout of dizziness, the worst of which cleared up after a half hour, but a constant feeling of being just a bit off balance lingered for several days. I went to the doctor on Friday and she thought it was caused by inflammation in my ears and sinuses, gave me an inhaler, told me I should feel better soon.

But on Saturday afternoon, at the Wonder Dog meeting, I started to get really woozy, especially while moving my head back and forth as I followed a conversation, and while I got myself home OK I spent the day on the couch. By 5 pm I was dizzy, shaking, jittery and generally not right. I felt sea sick, the way you do when you’ve been on a boat all day and then on land still feel like you’re experiencing the waves.

My DH took me to urgent care (which, by the way, is an awesome thing. It’s not the ER, because I didn’t need to go to the hospital, but I did need to be seen) and that doctor told me I had something called labyrinthitis*, an inner ear imbalance. He gave me some medicine for the vertigo and told me to lie still and not move my head as much as possible for two days. (Side note: one of the side effects of the medicine is dizziness, so how do I know when I’m feeling better?)

Since Saturday, I’ve been lying flat on the couch, can’t watch anything on TV that moves, and can stand up only very slowly to get to the bathroom or around the house.

I called my doctor yesterday (I know the doctor at the urgent care is competent and all, but I trust my doctor more) and she said it might take a whole week before I feel better (and webmd says maybe lingering effects for weeks after … because of course I have to research everything online).

I was a little bit better this morning, which is fortunate because I have some work due, but after a couple hours sitting up at the PC I feel like I’m about to fall over. Any movement of my eyes makes my head swim.

Lovely.

And on that note, back to the couch.

(* every time I hear that word it makes me think of David Bowie … because of the movie “Labyrinth“)

Leave a Reply

