Interview with Myself 2007

Back in April of 2006, I came back from GMA with a ton of interview tapes to transcribe and began to wonder what it felt like to sit on the other side of the interview microphone, so I did an interview with myself.

More than a year has passed since that infamous interview, and I thought it was time to give myself an update on myself.

ME: So, Joanne, it’s been more than a year since we talked last. Give us an update.

me: I can’t believe that much time has passed. It seems like yesterday.

ME: Well, when you spend everyday looking at the same four walls I suppose days tend to run into each other.

me: Ha ha, very funny. But seriously, there have been quite a few changes around here. First of all, Natasha went home to play catch with Jesus last summer. It took a toll on our entire family emotionally, but a week later I brought home the quirkiest border collie ever, and he helped temper the grief with laughter. And darling daughter moved home from Florida. Yeah!!!

ME: That quirky border collie would be Scout, right? Didn’t he bring some excitement into your lives right away?

me: You aren’t kidding, sister. A month after he was with us he broke his leg and I spent all summer nursing a 15 week old puppy in a leg cast. The vet said no walking, standing, or excitement, and gave us tranquilizers to help make sure we obeyed. I realized 4 weeks into it that the tranquilizers were for the dog, and that I could stand, walk or be excited.

ME: So 2006 was the year of the sick dog.

me: You’re not kidding. But he’s completely healed and keeping me veeery busy.

ME: So what else have you been up to?

me: Well, I decided that 2007 would be The Year of Adventure. I did GMA, then went to Colorado Springs for a conference. Colorado is lovely, from what I can tell from the postcards. I didn’t see much, although my roommate Lori Arnold (managing editor for the Christian Examiner newspapers) and I watched a very cool lightning storm one night. I can see why people say the sky goes on forever out west.

ME: You went all that way and didn’t see anything else?

me: Um, a fox running through the parking lot? And some mountains in the distance?

ME: The word “adventure” is wasted on you. So what else is going on?

me: I’m also in the process of starting a writing group here in Rochester with mystery author Phillip Tomasso III. And I’m working to start Wonder Dog back up, providing a way for Rochester-area Christians involved in the music industry to network together. I’m working with Dan Kulp of The DIG Project on that one.

ME: Well, that’s a little better. At least you have to get dressed and get out of the house. What’s going on with your writing?

me: My entertainment column now runs in several newspapers and I’m still freelancing feature stories and reviews. I’m also now a columnist for ByLine Magazine. Every month I write 500 or so words on some aspect of the writing life, hopefully with a twist of humor.

ME: And your books? How’s the missions book coming?

me: Next question.

ME: No, seriously.

me: (Sigh) The proposal is written but that’s as far as it got. Everyone keeps telling me that missions books don’t sell so I’m at a roadblock. Part of me thinks the book needs to be divided into two projects – I’m tentatively working on “101 Ways To Love Your Neighbor” and then “Missions for Chickens.”

ME: That’s actually a great idea.

me: Yeah, I think it would solve the “missions books don’t sell” problem and make a better point about backyard missions.

ME: Do you have an agent? Publisher?

me: No, but if you know anyone who’s interested, please send them my way.

ME: OK, what are you listening to right now?

me: Good stuff. New stuff. Wavorly’s Conquering The Fear of Flight. Jon McNicol’s Indiana. Daughtry. Chris Rice’s What A Heart Is Beating For. Adam Cunningham. Robbie Seay Band’s Give Yourself Away. Corrine Bailey Rae. John Mayer. Maroon 5.

ME: Reading?

me: I just finished The Memory Keeper’s Daughter by Kim Edwards and Saving Fish From Drowning by Amy Tan. Both every good, although The Memory Keeper’s Daughter is really heavy. Beautiful but it felt like a physical weight as I turned pages. And I wasn’t all that thrilled with the way it ended. Saving Fish was serious but had a humorous, adventurous attitude. I need something light and funny to read next.

ME: Well, we’re just about out of time, and the dog is barking, so is there anything else you want to add?

me: Just that I’m grateful as always to my readers. And that I’m hopefully planning a road trip this summer – two trips actually. One to Wyoming with my husband and Scout to visit missionary friends Ray and Tanya and Paschall, and then hopefully a mini-at home missions trip to see what God is doing around the East Coast. I’ve love to come and visit my readers’ ministries. Just drop me a line and we’ll talk.

Leave a Reply

