Be Nice: you make it a wonderful life

I just posted a new column on my website, as part of the “Be Nice Project”. The topic: how many people do you interact with every day that you don’t even realize you interact with?

After I posted that question, I took some time to think about who I’d interacted with yesterday. Turns out, more people than I’d realized:

  • The cashier and cart guys at the grocery store;
  • a woman I kept running into at the store who was perpetually blocking the aisles and apologizing for it;
  • a stock clerk;
  • the staff at the pet store;
  • the girl who waited on my at Tim Hortons, along with the rest of the staff who waved from behind the counter;
  • my husband before he went to work;
  • my daughter on the phone;
  • and scads of people online.

But if you’d asked me who I saw yesterday, I probably would have told you “No one”.

The point of yesterday’s post was to get people thinking about how many people we actually interact with every day – because every single one of those interactions changes both people in some way.

I’d love for you to join me for this little adventure in 2014, to think about what it means to love your neighbor, put out positive energy, do random acts of kindness, or just be nice. You can read all of the Be Nice Project posts on my website.

2 responses to “Be Nice: you make it a wonderful life

  1. I think the world needs more “Joannes”!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

